We tend to be grateful when we’re happy and it’s easiest to be happy when things are going well.

However, I can choose to be grateful regardless of my circumstances, even if other emotions temporarily overwhelm my gratitude.  I love the saying a grateful heart is a happy heart.  If I am grateful only when I am happy, I wouldn’t feel as grateful as often as I do.

Whenever I think about any of the things I am grateful for…my husband, my children, health, my home, family, friends, sunshine, a bite of something tasty, a beautiful sunrise, a design idea, a great book, a fantastic worship song…I tend to immediately thank God for them and when I do, my heart actually feels like it swells a little bit 🙂 I FEEL the gratitude there.  And then I FEEL happy.

There are a lot of negative things I can think about and I sometimes do but my brain and my heart feel healthier when I think about the good things.

8-9 Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.  Philippians 4:8,9

No need to wait for the 3rd Thursday in November.  I’ll beat the rush and be thankful and grateful now 🙂

 

