Yes, yes.  I know it’s suppose to be “Comfort Food.”  Happy Food suits me better.  Happy Food makes me smile.   Happy Food makes me want to clap.   Happy Food is for sharing.  I always share Happy Food with other people…my family, my workmates, my friends from church.  It makes them happy which makes ME, Happier.

Take Last week, for instance.  One morning, I got up a bit earlier than usual and made Creamed Chipped Beef.  OK, so why was I making Creamed Chipped Beef at 5am?  So I could take it in fresh to work.   No one in my family will eat Creamed Chipped Beef and I adore it so when I think we all need a pick-me-up, (or I just crave it), I make it early in the morning and bring it in to work.  My workmates are a DREAM…like me, they all love to eat and talk about the food we love to eat.  Whenever I feel the “Need to Feed,” they are who I feed.

I grew up eating Creamed Chipped Beef.  My dad, George, would make it for us every so often as well as spaghetti sauce on toast.  In my house, these were considered breakfast foods.  As a Navy man, he referred to them as SOS.  Until my Junior. Year. In. College. I thought that meant Save Our Ship.  Well, so it does, but not in this context.  No, I’m not going to print it here.  Go ask your dad what it means.

My favorite gravy-type Happy Foods:

Creamed Chipped Beef on Biscuits or Toast

SOS Meaty Pasta Sauce on Toast

Biscuits & Gravy

Recipes on the right

