2013-09-01 13.30.40

I love lasagna and I should.  I am half Italian and I have watched and helped my wonderful mom, Lois, cook lasagna, pasta and pasta sauces since I was tiny.  My mom made homemade sauce and the lasagna noodles and so do I.

2013-08-30 20.44.08

A few years ago I made ricotta for the first time and, of course, we had a beautiful lasagna after that.  We were all very impressed that not only was the sauce and the noodles homemade but now the cheese?! Lovely.

That evening, my daughter had a friend over and she enthusiastically told her friend about the lasagna and how it was totally homemade.  The friend responded, “Wow, you grew your own tomatoes?”

[INSERT Bob and my blank stares here]

Ha.  Apparently it’s not HOMEMADE unless they’re your own tomatoes.  What’s next, grind my wheat?

I think my husband took that as a friendly challenge and we started our tomato beds the next spring.  The real joke, of course, is that I don’t like tomatoes.  Not. At. All.  I love everything made with them but the taste and texture of the actual fruit…nope.  My mom thinks I am a mutant.

2013-08-30 20.38.54

So, the other night I accidentally left a fresh, unopened gallon of milk out overnight. GRR.  Not happy and yet, when life, (or yourself), gives you undrinkable milk, make yourself some ricotta cheese.  That’s what I did and we’ll be having lasagna this week.  I’m a happy girl and my family will be even happier.  Lasagna recipe here.

Great step-by-step instructions for ricotta at the Hungry Mouse:  http://www.thehungrymouse.com/2010/05/06/homemade-ricotta/  (Add 2 more teaspoons of salt than the recipe calls for if you’d like, I do).

